Sep 2010 28

The track below is the first single on Ninja Tune from new label signee Eskmo (aka Brendan Angelides)

In the past 5 years he’s released over a dozen singles and EPs while touring throughout North America and Europe. He’s also remixed works by diverse artists such as Bibio, Spor, STS9, Amon Tobin, the Glitch Mob and Bar9, to name a few. Angelides also runs the Ancestor label, which issued his “Hypercolor” and “Angus Dei” singles in 2009 to positive reviews from numerous magazines, blogs and tastemakers. Ninja Tune recording artist and film composer Amon Tobin hailed his work as “some of the best production I’ve heard in recent times.”

Eskmo has an album out Oct. 4th

“For his new album entitled “ESKMO” (Ninja Tune), Brendan has abandoned the strictures of making tracks for the dance floor and the strictures of the 12” single format, and followed his visionary muse. “Before Warp and Planet Mu I kind of fell into the game of making tracks to get released on smaller dance labels, having to cater to ‘dance’ formulas,” he explains. “Over this past couple of years, I feel I’ve let go of that, and just writing the songs I want to write. I got back to what excited me about making electronic music when I started out, creating these little universes with sound and writing songs.”
The album was, he says, written over a six month stretch “in the middle of a whole bunch of personal relationship-type stuff, a lot of deep life-experience type stuff happening that helped the music just bleed out of me. I just poured all those feelings into the music, it’s very cathartic. I allowed myself to let go of DJ structure — it’s not a ‘dance club’ album, because that kind of stuff hasn’t inspired me in years. This is the first full body of work where I’m singing all over it, and allowing myself to get over that furlough of expression has been really liberating.”
The first release on the label following Ninja Tune’s 20th Anniversary box set signals a brave new chapter for this artist, and for electronica itself. Dreamy, haunting, full of ghostly funk and inventive sonics, Eskmo serves up electronica with a most human heart.” Ninja Tune

Dec 2010 22

Eskmo: BBC6 Mini Mix – Dec 2010 (FREE DOWNLOAD) by Eskmo

download here

1) Prison Songs (Parchman Farm 1947/48) “Old Dollar Mamie”
2) Tom Waits: “Clap Your Hands”
3) Phosphorescent: “At Death, A Proclomation”
4) The Residents: “Jambalaya”
5) Yeasayer: “Forgiveness”
6) Jónsi: “Kolnidur”
7) Actress: “Futurproofing”
8) Benoit Pioulard: “Lasted”
9) The Residents: “The Festival of Death”

Make sure to check out some more Eskmo
Page 1 of 11
%d bloggers like this: